S3 actions and IAM roles

Hi.

I was wondering if there was a way to use AWS IAM roles with the S3 actions.

There isn’t any help on the S3 actions, and I haven’t found any references to IAM roles in the FinalBuilder forum.

If this is something that is not supported can you please let me know.

Thanks,
Bruce Palmer.

We don’t have any specific support for working with IAM roles.

Looking at the S3 sdk doco, I don’t see much in the way of IAM features when working with buckets. What are you looking to do?

Hi,

Our security team want to move away from access keys, which need to be periodically rotated, and use IAM roles instead.

I’m new to IAM roles, and still trying to figure them out, and I’m trying to clarify if FinalBuilder scripts that use S3 and EC2 actions will work using IAM roles.

For example, in an S3 action, if I leave the access key and secret key fields empty will the action pick up the role from the OS?

(To clarify further, our build machines that run Continua and FinalBuilder are EC2 instances.)

Thanks.

TBH I have no idea, we use the aws .net sdk, so I guess it would be up to them on that.

I checked a the actions and we don’t make the access key a required field, and I checked the AmazonS3Client sdk object and can’t see anything we need to configure for IAM roles.

We will need to learn more about IAM roles and create an environment so we can test this, since you already have an environment it shouldn’t be too difficult to test.

Okay, thanks Vincent.

I will create a test FinalBuilder script and try it out in our build environment later this week. I will report back here with the results.

1 Like

Hi Vincent.

I created an IAM role on our server. I confirmed that I can use the AWS CLI to list the contents of an S3 bucket without specifying an access key. The CLI picks up the IAM role from the OS.

I created a test FinalBuilder script with an S3 task to list the contents of the same bucket.