Admin rights to start a project with fbcmd in command line?

Hey,

I’m new to Finalbuilder and CI and I’m starting real slow to get comfortable. I wanna start a project via command line. The project includes a TestComplete/TestExecute test. I can execute the test via command line without any admin rights. But when i try to execute the test via FB8 like this:

`fbcmd.exe C:\Users\xxx\xxx\FinalBuilder_CI_Test.fbz8`

i get an ERROR that says:

Failed to execute program. Error: The requested operation requires elevated rights.

Why did FB8 need admin rights now? Did i miss somthing? Same error in CI.

If you need any other informations please let me know!

best regards
kai

It’s not FinalBuilder that requires elevation (it’s manifest is set to asInvoker) - my guess is the error being reported is being reported by TestComplete not FinalBuilder. Since you didn’t show the full log it’s hard to tell for sure.

I had a look at the documentation for testcomplete and found some useful information here :

Basically, you need to run fbcmd from an elevated command prompt.

As for Continua, you will need to stop and disable your agent service, launch an elevated command prompt, and then run

Continua.Agent.Service.exe --console

This will allow the agent and testcomplete to interact with the desktop session ui.

1 Like

Hi Vincent,

thank you for your reply. That is the full log. I dont see more Information either. I could show you a screenshot of the error but this will dont help anyways. Its just the command line command to call TestComplete/TestExecute with the error from above.

So you say its not FinalBuilder that requires elevated rights and than you say i need to start fbcmd with elevated rights.

I tryed to use your command line command. It asks me to press Q for quit (this closed the service) or R for reload (nothing happened). When I close the command line, the service is also closed.