# Repository still exists after setting repository-option "Checkout files into workspace" to false

**URL:** https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578
**Category:** Discussion
**Created:** [July 14, 2017, 12:34pm UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578 "2017-07-14T12:34:29Z")
**Posts on this page:** 5
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![rynardald](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/r/a88e57/32.png) [@rynardald](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/u/rynardald)
#### Post date: [July 14, 2017, 12:34pm UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578/1 "2017-07-14T12:34:29Z")

</div>

Hi Support-Team,  
I disabled the respository setting “Checkout files into workspace”, but the repository in ‘ContinuaShare\Rc’-directory is not removed. Is this expected and can I remove the repository manually?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![nevar](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/n/c4cdca/32.png) [@nevar](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/u/nevar)
#### Post date: [July 17, 2017, 1:51am UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578/2 "2017-07-17T01:51:29Z")

</div>

Hi Albrecht Hultsch,   
  
 This directory is required to store a clone of the repository to detect changes which then run triggers. If you don’t require the repository for triggering, or for retrieving files from then its best to not track the repository in Continua CI.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![rynardald](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/r/a88e57/32.png) [@rynardald](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/u/rynardald)
#### Post date: [July 17, 2017, 9:32am UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578/3 "2017-07-17T09:32:04Z")

</div>

Hi Jason Smith,   
 I need the repository only for triggering and not for retrieving files. And if I understand it right i can uncheck this option “Checkout files into workspace” for a repository and this will prevent Continua to create a clone of this repository.   
 My problem is that when I added the repository to Continua this option did not exists. And now I want it only for triggering builds and want to remove the files because the repository is large.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![nevar](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/n/c4cdca/32.png) [@nevar](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/u/nevar)
#### Post date: [July 18, 2017, 2:38am UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578/4 "2017-07-18T02:38:06Z")

</div>

Hi Albrecht Hultsch,   
  
 To detect that changes have occurred on the repository, a clone of the repository is required on the server. The folder you refer to, is the servers clone of the repository. The option “Checkout files into workspace” will mean the repository will not be cloned to agents when a build is started.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Sparky](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/user_avatar/www.finalbuilder.com/sparky/32/10_2.png) [@Sparky](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/u/Sparky)
#### Post date: [July 20, 2017, 3:17am UTC](https://www.finalbuilder.com/forums/t/repository-still-exists-after-setting-repository-option-checkout-files-into-workspace-to-false/5578/5 "2017-07-20T03:17:00Z")

</div>

Hi Albrecht,  
  
Unchecking the “Checkout files to workspace” option in the repository setting will actually mean that no files are checked out to the server repository cache working folder when a new changeset is detected. Any files for previous changesets will still exist in the repository cache.&nbsp;  
  
You can clear up the repository cache by resetting the repository. You may also delete the repository cache folder, in which case it will be recreated but will not contain any files.&nbsp;  
  
Note that the empty repository cache will still be synchronised with the agent when a build runs but no attempt will be made to check out any files to the agent workspace folder.
